Insect Girl

Insect Princess

So Vani suggested that I paint something uhh a little less technical.  He told me to begin with only paintbrush and paints.  NO pre-drawing, NO planning and NO thinking.  Grrrrrr!  I worked at it for days and I’m still not sure if I like it or if it’s finished. She went through several incarnations before settling on this one.   She is similar to the Lilliputians that I draw in my sketchbooks, but they rarely meet canvas and paints.  Any suggestions-positive or negative- are welcome.  The painting can use a name too….

27 thoughts on “Insect Girl

  1. Have been occupied with family visit (5 grandchildren!) these last few days and am now just catching up with my morning coffee visits. I LOVE this! (Also love your insects) She is quite beautiful — I think of more primitive art, folk art, gods and goddesses, when I look at her. I love the circle behind her, that she seems to be leaning into. For me, it creates an aura for who she is. I love the yellow flower garland draped down her “aura” and also draped in the curve, covering her personal aura (for lack of a better word to put here) 🙂 And the insect pendant lying on her chest, pointing upward to her sweet face. I like her front planted foot, with the back foot raised slightly like she may have been walking, carrying this aura with her. And the field of hyacinth around her is just the right touch. Perhaps she is the daughter of Eve, from the Garden of Eden, not needing men but rather embracing the natural world around her? LOVE this! Stretching from your comfort zone becomes you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is fantastic, Leslie! Though every last vein and line of the wings may not be perfect, I think you did an outstanding job with this. Very convincing and beautiful. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Leslie –
    I adore that you stepped up in a big way and out of your comfort zone – you are so much braver than I and an inspiration.
    I find this piece to possess an almost primitive-like quality – that is raw and real. She first reminded me of Botticelli’s, “The Birth of Venus” in her posture. The images you’ve included in this piece give the viewer much to contemplate. The concept is fascinating 🙂
    Keep plunging into discomfort – it serves you well 🙂
    am:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent! I wouldn’t dream of doing such a thing without a lot of pre-planning and sketching. I’m not a painter anyway… but I’d never dream of completely free-flowing it like that… so kudos also to you for having the courage to do something that way, so extra-rewarding when you come up with something this nice at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think it was a good exercise with a good result that will appeal to a lot of people.

    Sometimes I work without any premeditation, and sometimes I thoroughly think it through. It might be good to mix up these approaches to help round out ones strengths. If you can plan something and also be spontaneous, you might get better results when you combine the two (ex.., you can make on-the-fly improvements in the process of executing a preconceived plan). I also often won’t use the same technique two times in a row, even if the results end up looking similar. This is partly just because I get bored easily.

    Mixing things up isn’t good for developing a signature style, but it’s good for ultimately coming up with a better image. I see image-making a lot like pop music. You wanna’ get the equivalent of a hit song (this is putting it rather superficially, but I think it’s accurate). I think Jackson Pollock would have been a better artist if he did landscape paintings on Sunday afternoons. It’s also a big like martial arts. You’re better off knowing more than one style.

    If I could give you an assignment it would be to make a part-human, part-insect, and not to make it pretty. But, uh, maybe you’ve seen my “Human Fly”. I’m just requesting the stuff I like and want to see more of. Actually, come to think of it, I’d dig it if you made a human fly! But, uh, any combination could be quite interesting as a different project. Never mind though, that’s just my own proclivities, kinda’ like Jimi Hendrix suggesting people do heavily distorted guitar solos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Eric- I happen to like your proclivities, and yes, your human fly. Thank you for perhaps some of the best advice I have ever received. Seriously, you have given me a lot of food for thought.

      I’d have to say that I am most interested in creative improvements. Other than an occasional community night class I’m self taught. I have no interest in fame or fortune (or pop music) though eventually making some green doing freelance illustrations or paintings is clearly zeroed-into my sights. Signature style is not so important either, and I assume that’ll happen automatically, but only after my fair share of time and commitment.

      All that said, I am totally interested in your suggestions of mixing things up to help round-out my strengths and improve on my weaknesses. A better painting/ illustration is the goal, but I’m not afraid of working toward that goal by learning more styles and techniques.

      So, Mr. Wayne I gladly accept your assignment! A little planning mixed with some spontaneity, not pretty, part human part insect. I’m so down with it!!

      As you already know I am a big appreciator of your creative skills. And I admire the commitment you give to your art. So I take this advise seriously and gratefully.

      Like

Tell me what you think

