Mind No Mind

Mind No Mind

Howdy!  Still drawing and painting, even thought I haven’t posted in quite some time.  Today I decide to post something that I was working on in the beginning of the year, and as I opened up Killing Jar Studio I was greeted by a notification from WordPress  wishing me a happy anniversary on one year TODAY.  What a coincidence.

I read once that another name for the mental state-of-mind that many know as “in the zone” is “mind no mind”.  It’s that state when one gets lost in their sport or activity (in this case, painting)  to the point that they lose all track of time and often block out all peripheral sounds etc.  The hours seem like seconds and a sort of tunnel vision occurs.  I’m certain many of you know the feeling.  I named this silly painting, Mind no Mind, because that was the state I was in while creating it.  It is a lot like what I sketch freely in my sketchbooks, however nothing like my public works.  Done in acrylics on Masonite board.  Note: The muscle man in the upper left corner is my husband, he’s much more handsome in life, and often appears in my drawings.

12 thoughts on “Mind No Mind

  1. Have missed you!!! But obviously you’ve used your time well. This is quite amazing….I enlarged it with that “opening” motion of my finters on the screen, just to see all the details. So much here — brilliant indeed! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool… reminds me a bit of some of the cool underground stuff (like Robert Crumb) that used to be “forbidden” before finally becoming recognized. I was wondering what had became of you since I hadn’t seen any new art or posts in a while. Good to know you’ve still been creating!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think

